Meeting The Sun

“Pictures, I wanna see pictures” said Flo of girl-in-motion, and she’s right. There’s Nothing like some images to help a blog along. So I thought I’d better start by showing you where I normally run.

On weekdays, I normally run while it’s still dark, but have more latitude at weekends. So today I timed my run to arrive at the beach just as the sun appears. This is my out-the-front-door run, and I’ve practically worn a groove in it.

Starting out, there is a feeling of having forgotten something, but I can not think what.

Crossing the bridge into Alameda, I run down streets that look like this:

alameda-street-before-dawn

Here is the three mile point, at Alameda’s beach. San Francisco is just visible in the distance. The trail is between the road and the beach. It goes straight and level for about two miles before it enters a park and winds a bit. I have not tried running along the sand a la Chariots of Fire, but one of these days I’ll put some old shoes on and give it a try.

south-beach-trail

Here is the end where I turn around. The trial does a little loop here . I’m 5.5 miles from home. The big block at left is solid concrete. I’ve no idea what it is, but it’s probably some military leftover. There is frost on the grass.

Turn for home

And then, heading the other way, realization dawns. I know what I forgot. Sunglasses!

alameda-beach-sun

Bye for now.

9 Responses to “Meeting The Sun”


  1. 1 Flo January 6, 2009 at 8:46 pm

    Yay Pictures!! These are wonderful, Jim. Thanks for taking them, it’s so fun to imagine yourself running in other people’s neck of the woods.

  2. 2 jime2 January 6, 2009 at 8:52 pm

    Thanks, Flo. Carrying a camera is easier at this time of year, since we wear extra layers with extra pockets.

  3. 3 threlkeld January 9, 2009 at 9:14 am

    Is that Shoreline Blvd? My mom lives on that road. I’ve run there a few times and it’s very pretty, with a view of the city. Plus, Alameda is so civilized: There are free, safe public restrooms about every quarter mile along that path!

    And post-run, it’s fun to go replenish those glycogene stores at Ole’s Waffle Shop.

    Nice blog, Jim.

  4. 4 jime2 January 9, 2009 at 9:30 am

    Thanks, threlkeld (but you look like Julie) Yes, it’s Shoreline Drive. Oddly enough, I’ve never tried the restrooms. Ther are also water fountains, but they’ve been freezing up lately. Ole’s Waffle House is great.

  5. 5 suzee January 11, 2009 at 9:13 pm

    Hey! That’s MY run! 🙂

    Nice to see another Alameda runblogger! And one organized enough to carry a cell phone/camera.

  6. 7 spaulukonis January 12, 2009 at 6:35 pm

    Almost always, yes, although time varies depending on day of week, and I tend to run up that far only about once a week (I live near the High St. bridge, so go over the Bay Farm bridge more often and out that path).

    I’ve only seen one person out on the path who looks to be in your league, though. I need a bigger photo of you than the tiny Tilden Ten snap. 🙂

    I need to start doing the LMJS runs, and hopefully I’ll see you there!

  7. 8 jime2 January 12, 2009 at 6:59 pm

    I’ll put up a better picture shortly. If you’re interested in the LMJS runs, send an email to the address on this page: http://www.lmjs.org/About_LMJS_Training_Runs, and you’ll get a nice weekly email with directions, etc. It’s all free.


  1. 1 In Which I “Run Anyway” and Surprise Myself « Running Hither & Yon Trackback on January 13, 2009 at 7:16 pm

Leave a Reply

Race PRs

5K20:43 (LMJS 6/28/09
10K43:44
12K54:36 (Across Bay 3/21/10)
15K1:09:51 (LMJS 19/27/09)
Half1:31:28 (Kaiser 2012
Marathon 3;13:14 (CIM '11)

Pages

January 2009
M T W T F S S
    Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

