Striding with the Stars

One benefit of running is that it gets us out into nature. Since I do most of my weekday running before dawn, I spend some time gawking at the infinite heavens. But more of that in a minute.

In a fit of exuberance, I did some strides today, with a twist. Formerly I’ve accelerated mostly by increasing cadence, but speed is limited by how fast the old legs can turn over. I’m already doing 180 steps per minute at easy pace, which doesn’t leave a lot of headroom. So this morning I held down the cadence and increased speed by extending my stride, bounding along. It felt pretty fast. The Garmin is not good at measuring these short blips, and triggering the backlight is tricky at speed, but I did see 5:20 on the display at one point. Perhaps it was out of whack, but it was plausible. It’s sobering to think that the top elites go faster than that for an entire marathon. Yes, we’re not supposed to go all out when doing these things, but it was fun. 😉

Stretching afterwards, I was admiring the steam rising from my shirt, when I noticed that one of the brighter stars was moving steadily across the sky. A web check later confirmed that it was the International Space Station, already in sunlight above the darkened earth.  I was enjoying man’s oldest form of transportation whilst watching some people ride in the newest (and costliest!). Their progress appeared quite stately, coasting at an easy pace across the stars. But they might have been working up a sweat. They have a treadmill up there…

0 Responses to “Striding with the Stars”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Race PRs

5K20:43 (LMJS 6/28/09
10K43:44
12K54:36 (Across Bay 3/21/10)
15K1:09:51 (LMJS 19/27/09)
Half1:31:28 (Kaiser 2012
Marathon 3;13:14 (CIM '11)

Pages

January 2009
M T W T F S S
    Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

