Lake Chabot

Our Saturday group run was in fact on Sunday for a change. We were the guests of the Golden Bay Runners, who held a group run and potluck at Lake Chabot in Castro Valley. We had the choice of a six mile out-and back along the lake shore, or two trail runs around the lake. of nine miles or half-marathon length. I was feeling a little ITB soreness from the progression run of two days ago, so resisted the temptation of the half-marathon, going for the nine-miler instead. I need no further explanation of this decision than this elevation profile of the half marathon course:

Chabot Trail Challenge Half Marathon Elevation Profile

The Golden Bay Runners organize a race over this course in June. Hmmmm……

One feature of trail running, especially over hills, is that even when dozens of people start out, you’re running in twos and threes before long. I ran with Francisco, who is somewhat faster than me, and Dan, who is coming back strong from a knee injury. He still sensibly limits things, and turned around a little short of four miles, leaving me and Francisco following a narrow rolling trail through the eucalyptus forest. We had occasional glimpses of the lake below us. Francisco is a real powerhouse on the hills, both up and down. I ran at a good clip, but there was no need to kill myself to stay with him, for the simple reason that I knew the way and he didn’t. 😉 An occasional double back on his part kept us together. The one time he picked his own trail fork and ran up it for a few yards, he turned back just in time to see me running up, gleefully pointing at the other fork.
So I didn’t have time to stop and take pictures. Sorry about that.

Always replenish carbs soon after a run, say the experts. We all did a bit more than replenishment at the potluck. Bagels and carrot cake are a surprisingly good combination!

3 Responses to “Lake Chabot”


  1. 1 Flo January 12, 2009 at 9:18 am

    Sounds like an absolutely gorgeous run! OMG, that Half profile hurts to look at, glad you chose the 9er with your ITB acting up. Mmmmm…carrot cake. My favorite.

    • 2 jime2 January 12, 2009 at 12:14 pm

      Flo: Thanks. But I feel the vortex of that half marathon pulling at me….
      Loraine: I can see I’m going to have to write some posts about gait and injury avoidance. Cool. It’s good to have a stock of stuff to write about 🙂

  2. 3 Loraine January 12, 2009 at 11:26 am

    I love your blog Jim! Since I seem to be injury prone, I’m hanging on to your every word. I think I ate an amount at the pot-luck that was totally disproportionate to the amount I ran. Your enthusiasm and success in your relatively newly found sport is great!


Leave a Reply

Race PRs

5K20:43 (LMJS 6/28/09
10K43:44
12K54:36 (Across Bay 3/21/10)
15K1:09:51 (LMJS 19/27/09)
Half1:31:28 (Kaiser 2012
Marathon 3;13:14 (CIM '11)

Pages

January 2009
M T W T F S S
    Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

