Dredger

On Sunday I was co-race director at Lake Merritt for the 4th Sunday run. It’s a nice feeling watching the runners cross the start line and knowing that I just initiated that. No chips or computers for these races, the results are done the tried-and-tested way, with spindles and tick sheets. We had a good team and everything went smoothly.

I’m doing something of a taper this week, since the Kaiser Half is coming up on Sunday. This morning, some easy cruise intervals. 4 instances of 1200 meters tempo and 2 minutes rest. I’m still not used to the eccentricities of my Garmin 201. I hear the newer models are better, but mine does not cope with acceleration too well, It starts out by reading slow, then reads fast for a while. I did not watch it for long enough, which led to my doing the tempos at about 7:30 instead of 7:20. And I was rejoicing in how easy this stuff is getting! I might have done better just estimating it.

My 2-mile cool-down route takes me past two of the Alameda lifting bridges, then across the third one. The warning bells were ringing as I passed the first one at High St. Uh oh, that early in the morning it had to be the local dredger heading out. It goes at a good clip, too. I had better pick up the pace or the Park St. bridge would be up when I got there. The race was on, and just to make things interesting I stuck to my usual route and ignored a shortcut. Making up for my earlier slowness I covered 3/4 of a mile at 7:01 pace. My unwitting competitor the dredger could be seen from the middle of the bridge. A distant second.

5 Responses to “Dredger”


  1. 1 Loraine January 27, 2009 at 9:22 pm

    It was fun to volunteer at the race after all – I had visions of dropping spindles, tags or some other calamity happening. Let me know if you and Karen plan to co-direct again. She says you’re the nice race directors so I’d best stick with you guys!

    Good luck for the Kaiser 1/2!

  2. 2 jime2 January 28, 2009 at 8:02 am

    Thanks for volunteering, Loraine. Those other RDs are not so bad, you know. We tell the horror stories about dropped spindles, etc. so you all know not to do that.

  3. 3 spaulukonis January 29, 2009 at 6:34 am

    Ha! So much fun to read a local runner’s blog. Where do you go once you go over the Park St.? Do you loop back around along the waterfront (by the rowing club, etc.?) I keep thinking about doing that, but am not sure there’s a path all the way.

    Have a GREAT time at the K Half. I really wanted to run that one, but just did not get on the ball in time to get in shape for a half (and couldn’t bring myself to pay that much for a 5K!)

  4. 4 jime2 January 29, 2009 at 8:43 am

    Hi Spaulukonis. I live in the lofts just the other side of the bridge. The trail exists in segments on the Oakland side, but does not really connect up yet. You have to follow the road. When I started running I did a loop that went over the Fruitvale and Park St. bridges – just over a mile. By the time I was up to running 3 laps I got kinda bored with it, and started doing out-and-backs in Alameda. Still doing that.
    If you want an inexpensive 5K, come over to Lake Merritt on the 4th Sunday of the month. only $5 for non-members!

  5. 5 suzee January 29, 2009 at 8:53 am

    You’re right, I *do* need to run one of the LMJS runs. I’m a member, I just need to show up! February is couples (do you need volunteers? I could probably help with that.), and March is the same weekend as the Presidio 10 (that’s what I’m training for), but I will put April on the calendar Right Now. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Race PRs

5K20:43 (LMJS 6/28/09
10K43:44
12K54:36 (Across Bay 3/21/10)
15K1:09:51 (LMJS 19/27/09)
Half1:31:28 (Kaiser 2012
Marathon 3;13:14 (CIM '11)

Pages

January 2009
M T W T F S S
    Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

