My Own Track

I followed an idea explained on Flo’s blog by Doggie Poo. You can discreetly put distance markers on your running trail with duct tape. The actual measurement is done with Google Earth (or any mapping program that does measurements) “Just past the light pole, in line with the end of the house with the big tree”, that sort of thing.

So now I have a dead-straight 1,000 meter track along the shoreline trail in Alameda. After running it a few times, the tape is not strictly necessary. I know the spot.  It’s still nice to have an actual mark, though. Running up and down it at speed earned me some stares from dog walkers and normal-speed joggers! At interval speed, I should cover it in 4:10. The first try I did it in 3:59 – oops. Nailed it the second time, bit slower on the third. J.D. only had me do three of these at this point in the program, for which I am grateful.
It still knocked the stuffing out of me though.

I was just starting to wonder if I’ve hit a limit by doing two speed sessions per week, when I see in Runner’s World a sidebar on Stephanie Herbst-Locke. She just ran a 1:15 half at age 43. “Only do one speed session a week after age 40”. Hmmm. I’m a decade older than her! My schedule is going to get disrupted by racing for the next couple of weeks, anyway, but I’d like to continue the experiment for a while.

4 Responses to “My Own Track”


  1. 1 Flo February 13, 2009 at 10:06 am

    Whoa, first one under 4:00, you animal, you! Seriously, you are getting faster and faster, I LOVE it!

    I don’t think you can compare yourself to anyone when figuring out how many quality sessions a week you can handle. Remember, she’s had years of hard running in her history, you’re a baby in comparison. Hudson has a Master’s plan and if I followed it, I’d be screwed…three running days a week! The rest is XT.

    You know the old saw (idiom or whatever the hell it is), “we are all an experiment of one”.

  2. 2 jime2 February 13, 2009 at 10:20 am

    Thanks for the reassurance Flo. You’re absolutely right, of course. I don’t seem to fit the age-group mold anyway. My max HR is way too high, for instance. “Experiment of One” is what I will say to myself next time I’m feeling weary.

  3. 3 Flo February 13, 2009 at 11:00 am

    Jim2 from RW (don’t know if you read the forum even, but he’s got your name 🙂 and is a old sage about running) just posted this link about running and aging from Science Of Sport http://www.sportsscientists.com/2009/02/exercise-and-aging-part-1.html

    It’s pretty interesting but what I’m really looking forward to is the next article they’re going to post, “Chronological age vs running age”. Now THAT should be right up our alleys.

  4. 4 jime2 February 13, 2009 at 11:26 am

    I’ve read quite a bit of Jim2’s stuff. He’ s pretty much on the money most of the time. He’s a bit harsh on “Gallowalking”. That article seems to support the “Experiment of One” concept, in that we should not assume that the nasty graph applies to us.

    But 2:36 at age 60 – Wow! That guy’s going to mess up the A.G. tables for the rest of us!


Leave a Reply

Race PRs

5K20:43 (LMJS 6/28/09
10K43:44
12K54:36 (Across Bay 3/21/10)
15K1:09:51 (LMJS 19/27/09)
Half1:31:28 (Kaiser 2012
Marathon 3;13:14 (CIM '11)

Pages

February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

