Race: Emerald Across the Bay

When will I learn to get closer to start lines? Just being in the first wave is no guarantee of a clear run, it seems. I had to run round quite a lot of people in the first mile. There are no chips in this race, either. There was intermittent rain as we started, but the temperature was in the low 50s, so I was relatively comfortable.

Because of the complexities of the course, I relaxed my no-Garmin rule for this race. Last year I only spotted one mile marker, even though they were supposedly all there. The gadget did an approximate job, overstating the distance by 0.12 of a mile. Here are the mile paces it recorded.

Mile 1 – 7:01. Slow to get up to speed, but then a nice downhill .

Mile 2 – 7:34 Steep uphill in this mile. I’m actually surprised I didn’t slow down more. This hill thins out the field quite a bit.

Mile 3 – 7:02 On the bridge. A strong wet crosswind. One wise runner just glued himself to my left elbow for the entire length of the bridge and stayed relatively dry. He was wearing more stuff than me too, the wimp. I went fast on the bridge, I always do.

Mile 4 – 6:19 More bridge, some sharp corners, a tunnel and downhill. A little steep for comfort. This is probably where the Garmin got confused and added some distance.

Mile 5 – 7:17 This is where it so nearly ended. The course took an out-and-back to Fort Point, and it was still raining. At the turn, my right (inside) foot slid on the wet surface. I came down on my right forearm and rolled. I jumped right back up, amazed not to be hurting anywhere, and got back up to speed. I did get a little road rash on my arm, mitigated by the long sleeved shirt I was wearing. I was quite shaken up though, and didn’t push the pace too much for the next mile. It could have been a lot worse.

Mile 6 – 7:22 Level and boring going on Chrissy Field. Perhaps I could have gone a little faster given the slight tailwind, but never mind. The rain stopped.

Mile 7 – 7:20 The Marina Green. This part of the race is straight, level, and seems to last forever, Ugh.

Last 0.45 – 7:25 A steep little up and down to finish with. I’m glad I left something in the tank for this. I blew past a couple of runners on this hill.

Watch time was 55:00 dead. So gun time might be 10 seconds more. A PR by 5 minutes, so I’ve sped up by about 40 seconds/mile in the past year. It’s a good job I passed the photo station before getting dirtied up 🙂

UPDATE: My gun time was 50:12. I woner if I can chop another 5 minutes off next year?

4 Responses to “Race: Emerald Across the Bay”


  1. 1 Flo March 15, 2009 at 8:16 pm

    Great job, Jim! That’s a helluva lot of improvement over a one year span. May it continue for a few more years, just like this!

  2. 2 Loraine McVey March 15, 2009 at 8:58 pm

    Congrats Jim, I knew you’d take care of those 20 seconds and more! Having taken a tumble too in a 12k, it can leave you feeling shaky. But sounds as though the Energizer Bunny just kicked right in to get you there in record time. When will you become my personal coach please?

  3. 3 Christi March 16, 2009 at 5:54 am

    Congratulations on a great run and great time!!!!!!!!!

  4. 4 jime2 March 16, 2009 at 8:05 am

    Flo: Thanks, you are so positive. At the current rate of improvement, I might have a shot at a division medal in 3 years or so. The top guy in my div ran 40:44 and took the masters prize as well!

    Loraine: I was thinking of you when thanking the gods of gravity for letting me off this time. (Loraine’s fall was a race-ender, leaving her stranded on the Bay to Breakers course with a very painful knee)
    Coach? I’ve never tried anything in that line, but it might be interesting to think about someone else’s running for a change…

    Christi: Thanks to you too!!!


Leave a Reply

Race PRs

5K20:43 (LMJS 6/28/09
10K43:44
12K54:36 (Across Bay 3/21/10)
15K1:09:51 (LMJS 19/27/09)
Half1:31:28 (Kaiser 2012
Marathon 3;13:14 (CIM '11)

Pages

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

