Race: Run, Brickyard, Run!

Joe and I did a new thing today. This is supposed to be the last long run before starting the taper for Big Sur, but we also had a race – the Brickyard – to run. So we showed up early and did easy runs before and after the race to get the distance up. While doing the first of these, we talked about the race.
“There really are no flat bits on this course, are there? It rolls all the way.”
“So Jim, what pace were you thinking of for this one?”
“I haven’t really thought about it. I’ll be winging it pretty much. Let’s see… Only eight miles, but it’s hilly. So maybe I’ll manage my flat-course half-marathon pace – 7:30 or so.”
Joe was quite impressed by this plan, while I was thinking – “I must be out of my mind. Maybe 8:00 is more like it!”
They delayed the start because of a long line at the check-in, so we added a bit more distance. Four miles run so far. The race director made some inaudible announcements before banging two bricks together, and we were off.

Feeling pretty good after my extended warmup, I felt that that first mile was a little aggressive. In fact it was 7:25. Not unreasonable. The next two miles were about the same, then I slowed slightly to 7:38 for the middle two miles (missed the lap button there). I like these out-and-back races. You get to see all the other runners, and wave at the people you know. It’s like being a spectator in your own race. The field was quite spread out by this point, and the guy who had been towing me along slowed. I passed him, but mile 7 was my slowest, at 7:53. There was quite bit of uphill in that one, though. I pulled myself together and ran the last mile in 7:13. Total watch time: 1:00:30, which is a bit long because I was slow on the button at the end. Say 1:00:16 which would put my pace at 7:32. Can I call it or what? Joe got in shortly after, having been keeping something in reserve the next installment.

We set out again, to the amusement of some of the incoming runners. Being somewhat toasted, we ran at about 9:30 pace. Even that felt like pushing it, and we didn’t talk much. We turned around at the 3 mile point, making 18 total for the day. Not bad. We got back in time to see the awards ceremony, where they handed out bricks. No brick for me. Maybe next year.

Update: My official time was 1:00:27, which includes the few seconds it took to get over the start line. That makes the pace 7:33. I was 8th in my age group, which is sutuation normal. the top guys in my 50-59 AG are faster than the top guys in the 40-49 group. 😦

Last year I ran the shorter 4-mile race in 33:23 which is 8:21 pace. What will next year bring?

3 Responses to “Race: Run, Brickyard, Run!”


  1. 1 Christi April 6, 2009 at 6:44 am

    Great job!! I am impressed by everyone that can run before and after a race!

  2. 2 Flo April 6, 2009 at 7:22 am

    +1, I hate running after a race. You’re toughening up like nobody’s business, I love hearing about your latest exploits (and exploits they are). Funny about the brick prizes. Happy taper, Jim! tick tock tick tock…

  3. 3 jime2 April 6, 2009 at 12:38 pm

    Christi: Thanks. Impressive or possibly just nutty? I think some of the other runners who saw us voted for the latter.

    Flo: The clock is ticking for your half PR, too. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Race PRs

5K20:43 (LMJS 6/28/09
10K43:44
12K54:36 (Across Bay 3/21/10)
15K1:09:51 (LMJS 19/27/09)
Half1:31:28 (Kaiser 2012
Marathon 3;13:14 (CIM '11)

Pages

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

