Oops

Well, I’ve been a good boy this week, and got my mileage below 50. I’ve done some “minimum runs” to the first water fountain and back – 5 miles, and felt pretty lazy. The midweek tempo session went over 12 miles, but I hit my goals without having to work too hard, despite the wind. I followed it with an easy 7 the next day. No taper weirdness has struck yet (sluggishness, phantom pains) but that probably lies in wait in the next few days.

My “perceived easy” running pace has been creeping towards marathon pace, which is a good sign I suppose. Today I ran an 8-miler on a hilly trail at an average of 9:02, which was a pleasant surprise, given that I walked some of the steeper bits. What all this means for Big Sur I’ll be speculating on in another post.

But I got a mileage surprise of a different kind. Cathi said today: “Shoes seem to be on spring sale everywhere. Do you need anything?” “Hmm, some new shoes for work would be nice, and… Omygawd!” I rushed to the computer to check the spreadsheet.

My current pair of Brooks Defyance which I’m planning to wear for the marathon next weekend, are at 451 miles! How did I let that happen? These things sneak up on you. My last pair didn’t even last this long, and I ended up saying “Ow, these shoes are done” in the last mile of a half marathon. These ones have reached a sort of comfort sweet spot, so they’re probably near the end. It’s getting late to break in a new pair, so they’ll get a nice swansong. I’ll wear some other shoes for training this week, so they’ll only need to last another 26.2 miles.

Nearly there, old buddies

Nearly there, old buddies

Interestingly, my shoes seem to be lasting longer and longer as my form (presumably) improves, and as I’ve lost weight. Joe, who is taller and heavier, with a longer stride, goes through shoes in about 300 miles. Your mileage may vary, as they say…

2 Responses to “Oops”


  1. 1 Loraine McVey April 21, 2009 at 10:14 am

    you keep a clean shoe there Jim or is it just trick of the light? It’ll be a fine swan song indeed for them.

  2. 2 jime2 April 22, 2009 at 12:00 pm

    They’re not as clean as they look in the picture, but I’ve not been wearing them on the dirt trails. I was thinking of them as new till I saw the mileage.


Leave a Reply

Race PRs

5K20:43 (LMJS 6/28/09
10K43:44
12K54:36 (Across Bay 3/21/10)
15K1:09:51 (LMJS 19/27/09)
Half1:31:28 (Kaiser 2012
Marathon 3;13:14 (CIM '11)

Pages

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

