Supporters

Cathi has a throat infection that’s making her sound a little frog-like. She’s worried about my catching it for the marathon on Sunday, so is sleeping on the foldout for a few days. Let’s spare a thought for our supporters, who make these sacrifices for us. While we’re about it, the injury list deserves some consideration. Kati, who won’t be running Big Sur because of a nasty hamstring injury, and Dan, who’s running has been sharply curtailed by a knee problem. Heal soon, you two. Those of us who are still running are fortunate indeed.

BSIM Elevation ProfileNow, about that marathon. It’s hard to make predictions about this one. My training has been going well, and the hilly Brickyard race was encouraging. If this were a fast course like CIM I would be shooting for 3:20, dream goal 3:15. I’m hoping that somewhere in the 3:30s will be achievable here, but all bets are off if it’s windy. I’ll run the early downhill miles at 7:50 to 8:00 and then go by instinct. It’s interesting that the fastest pace group is 3:40. Hmmm…

5 Responses to “Supporters”


  1. 1 Flo April 23, 2009 at 5:20 am

    Wow, Cathi is a gem! That elevation profile is heart-stopping. I’m going to wish you no wind except for a strong one at your back the whole time. All the speedy thoughts a person can send are headed your way, Jim, good luck good luck good luck x 1,000,000!! Rest well, boyee.

  2. 2 Christi April 23, 2009 at 6:11 am

    Good Luck Jim! I am going to echo Flo’s sentiment and wish you a strong wind at your back. I am also sending recovery thoughts for all your supporters. I hope they all get well soon!

  3. 3 Peter Murphy April 23, 2009 at 6:37 am

    Good luck from the two of us. May your quads be strong. I think the course can be ‘fast’. Just be nice and fresh at the top of Hurricane point and don’t blow anything out on the downs that follow. It’s net down hill from there, so aim to neg split… most of all, have fun, enjoy the view!

  4. 4 jime2 April 23, 2009 at 7:49 am

    Wow, thanks everyone. With all the good, luck, following wind and good advice, I’m all set. The vertical scale is exaggerated of course, and for each uphill there is a down. I’m pretty zippy on a 5% downgrade! Good call on the negative split, Peter. I’ll approach it as a half marathon with a 13 mile warmup. CIM worked like that too. Now if you’ll excuse me, I’ll just go check the weather again…

  5. 5 Loraine McVey April 24, 2009 at 9:59 am

    It’s been so much fun watching your amazing progress. Will be thinking of you this weekend. I have great faith in what’s possible in any marathon having seen Dan complete CIM. I’m in no position to give running advice but good idea to stay out of range of throat infections if you can, wash hands lots and I put faith in Emergen-c!


Leave a Reply

Race PRs

5K20:43 (LMJS 6/28/09
10K43:44
12K54:36 (Across Bay 3/21/10)
15K1:09:51 (LMJS 19/27/09)
Half1:31:28 (Kaiser 2012
Marathon 3;13:14 (CIM '11)

Pages

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

