Post-Marathon Musings

During this recovery period, I’m thinking about the race, and whether I could have run it better. The second half was tougher than I expected, so a little more in reserve would have been nice. I still managed a negative split, but only by one second. Perhaps I could have gone a touch slower in the first half, or waited a bit longer before accelerating. Not by much, though. I’ll probably have to do this one again, but not next year. I plan to do the other ‘B’ race then, the one in Massachusetts.
Incidentally, Shorts finished a little under two minutes ahead of me, which was enough for A.G. 5th place and an award. That’s the closest I’ve yet been to the prizes in anything other than a club race.

So what is my flatland marathon pace now, for training purposes? The next marathon is San Francisco, which has some hills, but nothing too challenging. If I wanted to be obnoxious I could wear my Big Sur shirt and say things like “Heh, call this a hill?”
So I think I’ll target 3:20 for S.F.M. (7:37 pace) and train for around 7:30 flatland pace. Subject to revision, of course.

Here’s a shout-out to fellow blogger Flo, of Girl-In-Motion, who is running a goal race at the Lehigh Valley Half on Sunday. Her original goal of cracking 1:40 has been steadily revised downwards, and she’s gunning for something in the middle 1:30s. Go Flo! And not forgetting her friend Dogpound, who is BQ-bound (hopefully) at the New Jersey Marathon, and Julie, who is running the half. I hope I have all this straight. Anyway, good races to you all, and I’ll be watching for those race reports!

UODATE: Dogpound got her BQ Hooray! 3:44:57 (watch time). Needed to beat 3:45:59. Flo got 1:35:42, 2nd Master. Wow.

3 Responses to “Post-Marathon Musings”


  1. 1 Flo May 2, 2009 at 4:52 am

    Hugs to you Jim, you’re a gem. You’re a Jim gem. 🙂

    Sounds like a great plan about your S.F. time vs. your flat time. I laughed aloud at you wearing your Big Sur shirt and being all nonchalant. Looking forward to following the next round of your marathon adventure. In the meantime, have a great weekend!

  2. 2 Dogpound May 2, 2009 at 5:34 am

    Thanks for the shout out Jim!

  3. 3 jime2 May 2, 2009 at 12:17 pm

    You’re welcome. Now go and race your hearts out!


Leave a Reply

Race PRs

5K20:43 (LMJS 6/28/09
10K43:44
12K54:36 (Across Bay 3/21/10)
15K1:09:51 (LMJS 19/27/09)
Half1:31:28 (Kaiser 2012
Marathon 3;13:14 (CIM '11)

Pages

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

