Give Phfitz a Chance

Somehow I have muddled through three marathons without Pete Pfitzinger and Scott Douglas’ book “Advanced Marathoning”, choosing instead to take my guidance from Dack Daniels’ “Running Formula”. Well, I finally got a copy of Phitz last week and have been devouring it. Pete does not contradict J.D., in fact he quotes him, but he fills in a lot of missing detail. It helps that the book is marathon-specific.

I decided to use a plan from this book for the S.F. Marathon, but which one? Had to be a 12-weeker, because that’s how much time is left after just one week’s rest from the last one. The prudent choice would be the multi-marathon 12-week schedule with it’s recovery phase followed by a short ramp-up into the taper.
So of course I rejected that weedy thing and went for the 12/70 plan, (12 weeks, 70mpw max) but not without some trepidation. Taking one easy week then going into a new cycle is supposed to be risky, but no one’s told my legs about that. I’m a laboratory of one.

So how is the new regime, now that I’m well into the first week? I like the new paces. Instead of one “Easy” pace, there are two bands. one for “General Aerobic”, which is a little slower than I had been doing, and “Medium or Long” which is faster. I need to get accustomed to pacing the progression runs, which finish at the high end of their speed bands. No problems so far. There are more marathon-pace runs than before, but I wanted to do that anyway. The first of these is on Sunday – 16 miles with 8 @ MP. If that goes smoothly I’ll breathe a big sigh of relief that I’ve got away with my latest foolish venture. There are some double-session days later.. That’s going to be interesting.

Why only 70mpw when I hit 78 last time? Well, there’s more quality running here than I was doing before. Also I tend to go long on my assigned mileages, so I might wind up in the upper 70s again anyway. 🙂

4 Responses to “Give Phfitz a Chance”


  1. 1 Flo May 7, 2009 at 6:30 pm

    Good for you, already on the horse and a new one at that. Have fun with the new plan, I’m tired for you but know you’ll do great. I want to get Pfitz’s new book too, just to see what’s new and different.

  2. 2 Christi May 8, 2009 at 5:57 am

    Good luck with the new plan. I look forward to reading about how it goes!

  3. 3 jime2 May 8, 2009 at 7:47 am

    Flo – It’s recent enough to include Beijing performances in the elite profiles. I have not read the previous edition, but from his comments I gather that there’s more MP running in the plans than before. I’m fine with that.

    Christi – Thanks. I did a nice 11-miler progression this morning, and feel fresher than at any time sice the marathon. I think it’s going to work.

  4. 4 Flo May 10, 2009 at 3:42 pm

    I’d heard that about more MP runs – much better! I gotta buy it.


Leave a Reply

Race PRs

5K20:43 (LMJS 6/28/09
10K43:44
12K54:36 (Across Bay 3/21/10)
15K1:09:51 (LMJS 19/27/09)
Half1:31:28 (Kaiser 2012
Marathon 3;13:14 (CIM '11)

Pages

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

