More Tilden

This morning I tripped and bashed my knees, hip and elbow. Ow! To add insult to injury it happened at the same spot where I came off my bike two years ago, breaking my wrist. A sort of inadvertent commemoration, I suppose.

I was in mile 3 of a 14 mile run. Run the rest of it? You bet I did! A little blood doesn’t stop a marathoner. Felt pretty stiff later, though.

Now for some Tilden thoughts.

Here I am not far from the finish. I managed a smile for the camera, but notice how I’m not hugging the corner. I was a little spacey by this point.

I never even looked at my splits before writing about the  race, figuring that they wouldn’t be very useful on such a hilly course. Oops. Here they are.

Mile 1 – 6:55. Yeah, I pretty much blew my sub-80 in the first mile. On a cool day, given that mile 1 is easier than most of the others, 7:20 would have been good. Add on another 15-20 seconds for the heat. It’s interesting that I remembered this as “about 7:00”. I need to fix these first-mile pacing errors in races where there are no pace groups for guidance. So I’m going to start wearing the Garmin in races. I can always ignore the little beeping beast once I’m in the groove.
All that from one split! So what about the others?

2 – 7:52
3 – 7:43
4 – 8:27
(more uphill in this one)
That’s more like it.

I didn’t hit the button at the turnaround, being too intent on grabbing water at the aid station. So intent, that the volunteers had to remind me to run around the marker before heading back up the hill. Oops

5,6 – 20:05 (10.03 pace) This was the trail part. Slow, but to be expected. I walked the two steep uphills, like most other people.

7 – 9:06
8,9 – 18:34 (9:17 pace)
Missed another marker there.
10 – 8:26

So quite a positive split. While slowing down, I was passing other runners, so they were doing worse. I asked a couple of the faster runners and they had slowed on the return leg too. I could have run faster than I did on the return, but I was scared of heat stroke. Notice how I sped up in the final mile, which was a net uphill.

So that’s what it’s like in the heat. This course has spanked me twice now, but I’ll be back.

5 Responses to “More Tilden”


  1. 1 Peter Murphy May 21, 2009 at 6:15 am

    Yeah, that race was too much fun for me.

    I did notice looking at my gps data that the course really is much harder on the way back. A large part of my positive split came from the walk up the dirt hills and the long hill with the 3.5 mile aid station in the middle of it.

    Sigh. I hope the next one is a little cooler. Are you doing lake chabot?

  2. 2 Flo May 21, 2009 at 7:39 am

    Ow, you poor guy! Can’t believe you landed on the same spot as a previous fall, too. My sympathies are with you majorly, my knee is just now crusty enough to not hurt anymore – took more than a week!

    Love the pic, you look cool as a cucumber in those shades. Cracks me up how you felt it necessary to mention your lack of tangent hugging, that’s something I would do, too. We’re our own worst critics, for sure.

  3. 3 jime2 May 21, 2009 at 8:13 am

    Peter – That, of course is the other benefit of wearing a Garmin in a race – more data to chew over afterwards! That long hill you mentioned gave me a lot of trouble last year. Not steep but goes on forever.

    Flo – I seem to have got off lightly this time. The blood dried just before it got to my sock. People stared a bit, so I cleaned up at a water fountain. Just a little sore today, much better than yesterday. The photo is of course another in my “Just out for a jog” series. They prod me into wanting to go faster, just so I can get my feet in the air for the camera 🙂

  4. 4 Loraine McVey May 23, 2009 at 12:53 pm

    Jim, I checked in here to see if you’d blogged about your fall since you mentioned it today and I forgot to ask you more details (sorry, mind goes a bit ga-ga when running). Looks like you’re healing nicely though. Did you remember to stop the garmin while you attended to yourself? Heaven forbid you got skewed data!

  5. 5 jime2 May 23, 2009 at 5:05 pm

    Loraine – The auto-pause feature is my friend. I can stop at water fountains, fall down, and do all sorts of fun stationary things, and it counts then as ‘rest time’ without me having to remember to push buttons.


Leave a Reply

Race PRs

5K20:43 (LMJS 6/28/09
10K43:44
12K54:36 (Across Bay 3/21/10)
15K1:09:51 (LMJS 19/27/09)
Half1:31:28 (Kaiser 2012
Marathon 3;13:14 (CIM '11)

Pages

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

