Race: 4th Sunday Lake Merritt 5K

Before yakking about this little race I should remark on something I saw on our Saturday run yesterday. We were on unfamiliar territory at the southern end of Tilden park, and there was some looking at maps, scratching of heads. I found the Garmin’s “breadcrumb” mode useful on the return leg. Yeah, using a GPS for actual navigation!

Anyway, at one point the trail went through a mass of flowers. They looked like poppies, but were purest white, and about seven feet tall. Brobdignagian poppies, I guess. It was quite a sight. Oohs and a were exclaimed.

Oh yes, the race. It was sunny and a little warm for comfort, although a cooling breeze helped. Like a dummy I forgot to bring my watch, so ran bare-wristed and had to wing it on pace. I set out fast, but felt reasonably comfortable for the first mile. I just had to avoid getting bothered by the youthfulness of the runners in front of me. There is construction gong on around the lake with some consequent temporary course changes. At one point we made two right-angle turns, while dodging other users on a narrow path. Tricky. By mile two I had passed a handful of people who were pacing more poorly than me, and also been passed by some others, including the lead woman. As usual in a 5K I was feeling quite uncomfortable by now. Ugh! I’ll take the last miles of a marathon over this any day. Oh well, I seem to be doing OK, press on. In the last half mile I reeled in a young guy and drew level with him, but then he kicked away from me. Never mind. 20:43 and an AG win. My prediction of “well under 21” for this race turned out pretty well.

5 Responses to “Race: 4th Sunday Lake Merritt 5K”


  1. 1 Loraine McVey June 28, 2009 at 12:02 pm

    Congratulations Jim! Awesome run and great PR. I can’t imagine how crazy it is to run round there these days with the construction going on – can they be sure it is still a true 5k? John W. said he thought it just a tad longer. I hope you’ve got your ‘winner’ ribbon in pride of place!

  2. 2 Flo June 28, 2009 at 12:04 pm

    Whoa Jim!! Talk about smashing 21! I am SO excited for you, and this is stuck in the middle of all your marathon training, you haven’t even focused on the short stuff. Plus, to win 1st AG for a guy is so difficult. I’m WAY proud of you!! And how cute are you for putting that little link there? Many hugs and smoochies for you Jim. Congatulations!!!

  3. 3 jime2 June 28, 2009 at 3:41 pm

    Loraine – not sure about longer. At the moment you get some distance back by going through the colonnade at the top of the lake. But it’s more corner-y, and you have to go down steps at one point. Cant wait till the work is finished!

    Flo – The AG wasn’t a big deal in this field, but I’m pleased with the time. You didn’t even comment on my using your vroom helicopter! It links to the kiddie shirt site, BTW.

  4. 4 Flo June 29, 2009 at 5:07 am

    I did, but it got mixed in with in my congrats to you! “And how cute are you for putting that little link there?” I should have said “thank you” outright, don’t know where my manners are. You really are a sweetie, thank you!


Leave a Reply

Race PRs

5K20:43 (LMJS 6/28/09
10K43:44
12K54:36 (Across Bay 3/21/10)
15K1:09:51 (LMJS 19/27/09)
Half1:31:28 (Kaiser 2012
Marathon 3;13:14 (CIM '11)

Pages

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

