Deja Vu

Well here we are tapering again already, and this time it’s for a marathon I’ve done before. My next post will be a detailed discussion of the San Francisco Marathon course, based on last year’s experience.
I’ve normally been running six days a week this cycle, but made it seven last week. I thought it would be about 85 miles, but somehow it got up to 90. Oops. Previous big weeks usually resulted in my feeling somewhat weary, but not this time. Phitzinger’s program is tough but seems to get results. Hopefully this bodes well for the race.

As part of the whole learning-about-coaching thing for the club, I went to a talk at Presidio Sport & Medicine, where we heard Dr. Joann Dahlkoetter talk about sports psychology, and Chris Chorak talk about sports injuries from the coaches point of view. Dr. Joann won the S.F Marathon in 1980 (2:43) and placed second in the 1982 Ironman. Starting the marathon phase of that race, she was so trashed from the cycling that she was walking, and had to use her full mental bag of tricks to get going. Being passed by one of her rivals certainly helped! Quite an illuminating morning altogether.

7 Responses to “Deja Vu”


  1. 1 Flo July 13, 2009 at 7:19 am

    Wow, 90 miles! You’re really knocking them down, congrats. What were you averaging on 6 days/week and how was it spread out?

    • 2 jime2 July 13, 2009 at 7:53 am

      I’ve been sticking pretty close to Pfitzinger’s 12/70 plan, which has most weeks at 70 miles, and cutback weeks at around 60. Monday is usually “rest/cross training”, when I do a bit of core work. The week prior to the 90-miler was only 41, including a 5k race. Doing a cutback just before an increase seems to be the way to go.
      The big week went like this:

      Mon: easy/progression – 15.48
      Tue: recovery double – 10.96
      Wed: easy + Intervals (6X1000m @5K) – 12.58
      Thu: easy/progression – 15.45
      Fri: general aerobic – 9.32
      Sat: recovery – 6.3
      Sun: long run, fast finish – 20.6
      Total: 90.7

  2. 3 Flo July 14, 2009 at 4:42 am

    I’ll check the book since I’m wondering what 70 on 6 days looks like. I guess once you’re doing the longer long runs, it’s easier for that to happen.

    Awesome week, Jim, and I never use the word “awesome” if I can help it. But that had a good amount of quality in it, as well as the mega miles, so…awesome. 🙂

    • 4 jime2 July 14, 2009 at 8:16 am

      Aw-shucks!
      A bit of quality helps stave off tedium, although I’m quite fond of those morning 15-milers. They start in moonlight and end in the sun. It’s a glorious time of day.

  3. 5 Loraine McVey July 14, 2009 at 9:01 am

    All I can say is you’ve really taken to this running thing! I remember back in the day when it just seemed like a bit of a dabble and now this is serious stuff! And it doesn’t seem that all that long ago when we said ‘you did 50 this week? WOW’ and everyone, including yourself thought that was crazy talk. If I don’t see you before, have a fantastic race in SF.

  4. 6 Jim E July 14, 2009 at 9:38 am

    Yeah, crazy.
    That 50 miler a year ago was quite a challenge at the time. More so than the recent big one. Funny how that works. Further increases will probably not be useful (hang on, I always say that).
    I’ve come to realize that the 10% rule is a bit of a simplification. Here’s an illustration of what I mean:
    http://www.coolrunning.com/engine/2/2_1/the-anatomy-of-a-medal.shtml
    Scroll down to the mileage bar-chart. OK, the runner is Deena Kastor, but I think the principle holds for us ordinary mortals (but maybe not the actual mileages).

  5. 7 Loraine McVey July 14, 2009 at 11:20 am

    Interesting article on what it takes … phew!

    Funny, Karen spoke to me about one way to increase mileage that might help keep injuries at bay and that was the sort of up, back down, back up again. I’ve tried this for planning long runs, ie 8, increase to 10 back down to 9, up to 11, etc (ok, don’t laugh, they are LONG to me!) I’ve enjoyed this pattern more than just straight increases. Looks like Deena Kastor’s mileage pattern has some of this going on. I guess that’s where our similarities end …


Leave a Reply

Race PRs

5K20:43 (LMJS 6/28/09
10K43:44
12K54:36 (Across Bay 3/21/10)
15K1:09:51 (LMJS 19/27/09)
Half1:31:28 (Kaiser 2012
Marathon 3;13:14 (CIM '11)

Pages

July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

