And Now For Hudson

So far I’ve done four marathons, and the training programs have been: Runners World SmartCoach, Jack Daniels Marathon Plan ‘A’ (twice), and Pfitzinger 12/70 (12 weeks/70 miles per week). For the next one, it’s Hudson level III. What a faithless fellow I am! But variety is good, and it is necessary to ramp up the training to keep pace with improved speed and endurance. Hudson calls his philosophy “Adaptive Training” because he expects the runner to adapt the plan on the fly according to feedback. In practice this is mostly pace adjustments, but might also involve changing workouts around completely. It helps to have a bit of experience, of course. I recall being nervous during my first marathon cycle. Any substantial departure from the magical plan would lead to certain doom on race day.

In the last cycle there were only 13 weeks between races, so I had just one week of recovery before commencing the 12/70, which started with a bang. That first week called for 55 miles, and was kinda tough. I felt that I was struggling to keep up during some of that cycle. 12 weeks is too short.

This time, with a luxurious 20 weeks between marathons, I had planned to do two weeks of resting and recovery runs before starting Hudson at week 3. After just one week I was getting fretful. On the Saturday I ran some miles at a fast-easy pace with the group, and that was fine. The early weeks of the plan looked fairly easy, so I started in om Monday. So far so good, and things got more comfortable (and faster) as the week progressed. I’m back on the horse! Next marathon: CIM on 7th December. Next half: San Jose R&R on 4th October. Both of these are on fast courses, so I’ll get dome good feedback on the training.

6 Responses to “And Now For Hudson”


  1. 1 Flo August 9, 2009 at 4:41 am

    I’m happy you’re doing the same plan, it’ll be fun to compare notes. Glad you’re feeling ready to get back into it already. Here’s to yet another great marathon cycle for you, woohoo!

  2. 2 Loraine McVey August 10, 2009 at 7:16 pm

    Back on the horse so soon, congratulations. You mentioned hills before … you leaving Alameda to do that presumably?

    • 3 jime2 August 10, 2009 at 8:23 pm

      Flo – You’re two weeks ahead of me in the plan, so I’ll be keeping a close eye on your progress, particularly when you get to some of the tougher workouts!

      Loraine – Yes. The tallest hill in Alameda is the parking garage, which I have not ruled out. The are some pretty good hills about a mile from me in Oakland, but that neighborhood is pretty sketchy. I might have to drive over by Lake Merritt. How are things around your neighborhood?

  3. 4 Loraine McVey August 11, 2009 at 7:33 am

    Plenty of hills round here (we’re on Walavista). It’s a hilly residential area so pavement of course. If you parked at the lake then headed down Lakeshore toward Piedmont you could definitely be in the hill zone within a mile or two, depending where you started out. Then there’s the Piedmont High School track nestled in the hills too so you could skip over there for track workout. Not sketchy!

  4. 5 screaminzab August 11, 2009 at 9:15 am

    Hey Jim! First time here. Good luck with Hudson. I am sure you’ll do great after that awesome race at SF. I look forward to following your training.

    • 6 jime2 August 11, 2009 at 9:27 am

      Loraine – Thanks. If you see someone running like a maniac up hills in your neighborhood, that’ll be me!

      Zab – Welcome, and good luck in Chicago. Hopefully you wont need the ice bag this time. Go get that 3:10!


Leave a Reply

Race PRs

5K20:43 (LMJS 6/28/09
10K43:44
12K54:36 (Across Bay 3/21/10)
15K1:09:51 (LMJS 19/27/09)
Half1:31:28 (Kaiser 2012
Marathon 3;13:14 (CIM '11)

Pages

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

