Comeuppance

I was getting a little cocky there for a while. The workouts were going a bit faster than called for, and I pushed the recoveries too. The sharp reminder came on Friday when Hudson set a time trial. Two miles easy, four at maximum effort, then two easy. The first half mile at maximum was sort-of OK, then I hit a stiff headwind for the next mile and a half that simply knocked the tar out of me. The remaining two miles, even downwind, were about 30 seconds slower than 10K pace. I should have done a lot better than that.

Today things went better. 15 miles, with the last 30 minutes “moderate”. I felt pretty nasty starting out. It’s possible I’ve been fighting a minor ‘flu or something. Things got better during the run, and the moderate miles came out OK, about the same speed as those “max” miles on Friday.

I usually exchange a smile or “Good morning” with people I encounter on a run. This produced a funny result the other day. I was running down the middle of a leafy side-street in Alameda at 6 a.m., and a car was parking up ahead. A 50-ish woman got out in her dressing gown, saw me smiling , and blurted out: “Oh, I was just moving the car. I didn’t just get home. How embarrassing!” We both laughed. There seems to be a camaraderie amongst early risers.

I’ve hit on a solution to a pesky little problem. My running-impaired brain has troble keeping count of repetitions . Is that nine or ten? I make little rips in the edge of a post-it note and tuck it in my waistband, Then I can just count the rips. When half done, I start on the opposite edge. The sticky side, which faces my shorts, prevents it moving around, although it does get a bit damp.

2 Responses to “Comeuppance”


  1. 1 Flo August 16, 2009 at 6:39 pm

    Funny about the dressing gown woman. As far as the comeuppance goes, you’ve been hitting it hard since the marathon, so no surprise you’d eventually get a hint to slow down. And the repetitions…thought you had a Garmin, a most excellent tool for programming Hudson reps.

    • 2 jime2 August 17, 2009 at 7:32 am

      I’ve never tried pre-programming reps into the Garmin. Since I like to pick the starting spot, rather than let the gadget do it for me. Is hould probably give it a whirl though. I’ll try anything once. I do record them, and could look in the history to see how many I’ve done so far, but that’s a lot of button pushing.


Leave a Reply

Race PRs

5K20:43 (LMJS 6/28/09
10K43:44
12K54:36 (Across Bay 3/21/10)
15K1:09:51 (LMJS 19/27/09)
Half1:31:28 (Kaiser 2012
Marathon 3;13:14 (CIM '11)

Pages

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

