The Running Tourist

Thanks, Wikipedia

Thanks, Wikipedia

It’s nice to get to know an unfamiliar place by running it. This last weekend we attended the Monterey Jazz Festival and stayed with a friend at Pebble Beach. The area is known for it’s golf courses, but its pretty good for running too. Tourist cars pay to get in so traffic is light. The views are beautiful, and you have a choice of (mostly) flat or hilly routes. I also managed to hook up with FB, an aquaintance from the Runner’s World marathon training forum, who is about the same speed as me. We ran in company for part of my 18-miler. Later I chugged along a boardwalk that snakes over the dunes at Spanish Bay and ran part of the Big Sur half marathon course into Pacific Grove. There was a headwind on the way back, which was less fun, but a cheery greeting from a golfer helped me along. We take all the encouragement we can get.
The previous day I had been able to impress some of my fellow guests when driving back from the festival. Not only did I find my way to the house on a foggy night, but I was pointing out local landmarks as I went. Telling them that I’d run the road a few hours before didnt seem to dissapate my unearned reputation for navigational talent.

In other news, I’m planning to run a 15K on Sunday. I’m dithering about waering my brand-new super-light Brooks Launches wihtout any break-in. Yeah, I’ve hurt myself that way before. We’ll see.

4 Responses to “The Running Tourist”


  1. 1 Flo September 25, 2009 at 11:24 am

    What a gorgeous photo! So stunning. Hey, have a fantabulously excellent race this weekend. Good luck on the shoe choice, that’s such a hard decision to make. Zoom zoom!

  2. 2 Loraine McVey September 27, 2009 at 8:08 pm

    Jim, what a great location for a run. Oh and the shoes, were those the ones I couldn’t help but notice today when you zoomed past the water stop? They looked fancy.

  3. 3 Christi September 28, 2009 at 5:54 am

    What an amazing photo!!!! Good luck on your 15k!!!

  4. 4 jime2 September 28, 2009 at 4:25 pm

    Well, I didn’t take the photo, it came from Wikipedia, but thanks anyway.
    Loraine – Yup, those red things on my feet were the new shoes. I need to write up a report on the race, and how the shoes worked out.


Leave a Reply

Race PRs

5K20:43 (LMJS 6/28/09
10K43:44
12K54:36 (Across Bay 3/21/10)
15K1:09:51 (LMJS 19/27/09)
Half1:31:28 (Kaiser 2012
Marathon 3;13:14 (CIM '11)

Pages

September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

