Whoa..

Sorry it’s been a while since I posted. I’ve been a little busy. As for what I’ve been busy doing, that’s a whole other post, but it’s marathon related. Anyway, I didn’t run today, which is my first day off for a while. My left achilles tendon gave a twinge or two earlier in the week, but had behaved itself yesterday on an easy run. I poked and prodded it last night, and it was somewhat tender.  Those of us who self-coach sometimes have to talk to ourselves in a firm voice. “No running today, and probably not tomorrow either. Rest, Ice, Compression, Elevation for you!” Hopefully I can nip this thing in the bud, and there’s no point in stressing over it. I’ll come back stronger after a little break.

In other news, the BAA sent me an email and postcard this week. “This card confirms your acceptance into the 114th Boston Marathon on Monday, April 19th, 2010.” For some the “BQ” is quite the transcendent experience. I’ve been a little blasé about it, since I managed it with a 13 minute cushion. It’s still really nice to get that card, though!

3 Responses to “Whoa..”


  1. 1 Loraine McVey November 1, 2009 at 9:02 pm

    Damn niggly achilles tendons! My left achilles has its very own bag of peas in the freezer. Massaging it before getting out of bed can help too. Hills can aggravate, at least that’s what I’ve found. Hope it goes away quickly for you.

    Did you manage to keep a nice slow pace for your beginners (is that another post?)

  2. 2 Flo November 1, 2009 at 9:17 pm

    Long time no blog. Wondered what was up with that. Very sorry to hear you have to take a couple days off for it, but you’ve been training hard, so no loss, just the mental aggravation. Congrats on the Boston card! I don’t like mine because it has such a slow time on it, gives me a sense of unease (which is why I didn’t want to sign up yet, but there’s talk on LetsRun of it filling up around Thanksgiving!). Anyway, cheers for Boston! (clinking a glass with water over here)

  3. 3 jime2 November 2, 2009 at 6:32 am

    Loraine – I’m chuckling about the special bag of peas. I have one of those ice bags – a rubber thing with a screw cap. It gets used so infrequently that I always have to search for it.

    Flo – You’ll be putting a much better time on there quite shortly, 20 days to be precise. The sport is booming just now. I don’t suppose the BAA will be adjusting the BQ times just yet, though. Imagine the panic that would cause…


Leave a Reply

Race PRs

5K20:43 (LMJS 6/28/09
10K43:44
12K54:36 (Across Bay 3/21/10)
15K1:09:51 (LMJS 19/27/09)
Half1:31:28 (Kaiser 2012
Marathon 3;13:14 (CIM '11)

Pages

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

