Thanksgiving

When in Rome, do as the Romans do, and when in the USA, pig out on turkey and all the trimmings at Thanksgiving, Whoohoo!
I’m thankful I discovered running, and the friends that come with it, and also thankful that I’ve made it to taper time in fairly good shape.

What have I been up to? Our club, the LMJS, is organizing a training program for the Oakland Marathon and Half. The marathon program started last week, so now there are about 75 people following three training programs drawn up by little old me (with some input from others). Eek! I hope they’re doing OK. The weekly supervised runs will be plenty hilly, since the course has a major hill in it.  I’ve run various bits of this course at different times. The uphill’s not too bad, but that descent down Lincoln is not be trifled with. It’s on concrete too. They don’t put asphalt on gradients that steep. The half-marathoners are starting their training soon, and I’m still working on those plans…

Today I’m taking a day off as part of my taper. CIM is the weekend after next, and I’m still thinking about a pacing plans For the first time I’m planning a negative split instead of doing it by muddle. I’m tinkering with a spreadsheet to get the splits out. I’m not sure if I’ll use a pace band, or try and memorize it all. The memorization trick would involve a set off offsets from 7:30 pace, hitting zero around halfway, then going negative. After mile 18-20 or so, it stops being a pacing plan, and becomes a schedule. “Hitting mile 20 in X equates to a finish time of Y” type of thing. Nice to know if you’re pushing to hit a particular goal.

Speaking of pace bands, I volunteered at the LMJS 4th Sunday Runs last weekend, and at the start Loraine showed me a small post-it note with three mile splits on it. Yup, a 5K “pace band”. It worked, and she got another PR, on her own this time. Good job, Loraine! Her husband, Dan, has been coming back from a knee injury that the docs seemed to think is degenerative, but maybe isn’t. He’s been running in a pair of Vibram Five Finger shoes, with good results. It looks like there’s something to this barefoot/minimal-shoe trend.

Happy Thanksgiving Everyone!

5 Responses to “Thanksgiving”


  1. 1 Flo November 26, 2009 at 6:39 pm

    Woohoo, Jim, CIM is just around the corner and it’s time to start giving you some GO Jim GOs!! But first, how very cool that you’re becoming quite the coach with those training plans, I’m so impressed. It’s truly wonderful how involved you are with running beyond your own racing adventures, it must be quite uplifting.

    Your plan for CIM sounds solid, memorization or not. I’m so excited for you to kick ass and bring home a hefty PR. Do it for me, would ya? 🙂

    Congrats to Lorraine! Looks like she just keeps getting faster every time out. Yay!

    GO JIM GO JIM GO JIM GO JIM GO JIM GO JIM GO…

  2. 2 Loraine McVey November 28, 2009 at 9:27 am

    Yay go Jim indeed!!! Can’t wait to hear how CIM goes for you & our other club runners. I hope you kick ass big time on this one again. They say it’s a fast course ….

    I think the marathon trainees are in good hands with your training programs. I hope you don’t end up having to do too many of your own recovery runs at their marathon pace! Must make for tricky scheduling for you.

    Thank you Flo – I’m a Jim trainee of sorts. It’s interesting taking wisdom from different people and how they train and picking some bits that can apply to yerself.

    Here’s to spreadsheets! GO JIM!

  3. 3 Dan Piponi December 2, 2009 at 6:24 pm

    Hey Jim! Good luck at CIM!

  4. 4 Christi December 3, 2009 at 7:07 am

    Jim I hope you have a great race at CIM! I am looking forward to your race report!

  5. 5 Jim E December 3, 2009 at 10:19 am

    Thanks for all the good wishes. I’ll be making another post shortly, but I’d better do this race right, with all this encouragement!


Leave a Reply

Race PRs

5K20:43 (LMJS 6/28/09
10K43:44
12K54:36 (Across Bay 3/21/10)
15K1:09:51 (LMJS 19/27/09)
Half1:31:28 (Kaiser 2012
Marathon 3;13:14 (CIM '11)

Pages

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

