CIM is near.

I’ve noticed that some marathoners seem to shed items as they go, like rockets on the way to orbit. Gloves, arm-warmers, drink bottles, food wrappers, and so forth.
After some thought, I’m going to join them. My policy on drinking up to now has been to tank up immediately before the start, so I can skip the first aid station. I would use a disposable water bottle, and get rid of it when entering the start area.  Now I’m going to take that bottle with me for the first few miles. I’m unused to handhelds, So I’ve been practicing this week, putting on gloves while running without dropping it My bottle has a duct-tape handle, which makes life a lot easier.

So I have a pacing plan that involves starting out at 7:35/mile and accelerating. I’ll reach the half in 1:38.xx and blow past the 7:15 pace group at about mile 22. If I fall behind the plan, catching them by the finish will be the challenge du jour.
This would get me there in 3:14:xx, but it’s a rather large 2:3x negative split. I probably wont stick to it exactly, It’s more of a reminder to take it easy and not weave through the runners in the first few miles. That part will hopefully come at the end.

Or I could just run with the 3:15 pace group. 😉

CIM has tracking for the first time, And they seem to have been testing it today. Imagine my surprise to discover that I’ve already run it, and finished in 2:59:46! That data is gone now. If you’re interested, there’s a prominent link on the home page at http://runcim.org. Last name: Eckford.

3 Responses to “CIM is near.”


  1. 1 Loraine McVey December 4, 2009 at 9:49 pm

    wow, a sub 3 hour marathon – things are looking good for you already! Best of luck from the McVey/Piponi house.

  2. 2 Flo December 5, 2009 at 1:57 am

    Good luck Jim!!! All speedy thoughts and dreams going your way, though you’re more than ready to bring home the bacon. Good on yer for the bottle, you’ll be glad you did that. Have a great day today getting pumped while simultaneously blissed out and Zen-like for your conquering tomorrow. WOOHOO GO JIM GO!!!!!!!

  3. 3 John December 5, 2009 at 2:42 pm

    One way to keep water on you in a comfortable way is with the Body Bottle – its a water bottle that straps to your bicep. Runners in training get a 20% at bodybottle.com


Leave a Reply

Race PRs

5K20:43 (LMJS 6/28/09
10K43:44
12K54:36 (Across Bay 3/21/10)
15K1:09:51 (LMJS 19/27/09)
Half1:31:28 (Kaiser 2012
Marathon 3;13:14 (CIM '11)

Pages

December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

