Race: S.F. Chinatown New Year 10K

I was feeling somewhat race-deprived after missing the Kaiser half the other week, so determined to race the Chinatown New Years 10K this weekend. Tapering for that half and then then getting the flu made a bit of a hole in my training. so no taper this time. I ran a 20 miler with the LMJS marathon training group on Saturday which is hardly recommended as preparation for a race, but how bad could it be? At the minimum I would get a decent tempo run. The paces given here are from the Garmin. I wore it mainly for the HR data, and because I didn’t want to be bothered with the confusing mile markers on this double-loop course.

The race began under the paper lanterns on Grant Avenue. There were no chips, so I lined up fairly close to the line with LMJS buddies Dan, Loraine and Karen. Not quite close enough, as it turned out. After the firecrackers went off we were weaving though a mass of kids and other slow people. It opened up as we moved into North Beach, but that first mile took me 7:05. Then I started reeling in runners, this was starting to feel like a race. Mile 2 had some steep downhill – 6:48. Mile 3 was mostly flat on the Embarcadero with some uphill at the end – 6:49.

After the 5K racers split off, We chugged up the big hill on Pine to get back up to Grant. Ugh. There was heavy breathing on my shoulder. A guy I had passed earlier gradually worked past me. The positive spin on this was that it would make for an interesting battle in the second half, but alas it was not to be. At the top of the hill he let out a big sigh and started walking. Well crap! I ran along Grant again, starting to feel that 20 miles in my legs. Two older guys running together passed me, and I was not quite able to stay with them. I did catch a different runner on the downhill, but everyone was getting spread out and such opportunities were running out. Mile 4 with the big hill – 7:50, then mile 5 – 6:55. Yup, starting to fade a bit. The pair had got about 100 yards ahead and I was getting glum. Then salvation. A younger runner in the uniform of one of the S.F. clubs passed me and I hung on behind him like grim death. We started to close on the pair in front who seemed to have slowed slightly. By this point in the race we were passing quite a number of 5K walkers, and I nearly collided with a young girl who swung to the side. This cost me 2-3 yards, and I had to work really hard to get back in contact with the guys in front. By that time we were going uphill past the six mile marker and time was running out. 7:10 for that mile.
The finish was on level ground but I could not match their kick. Watch time 45:09 or thereabouts. I need to wait for Wednesday for the official time, but that would be 1:51 faster than last year, and a 5 second PR for the 10K. Not bad for tired legs. It looks like my current training cycle is on track.

5 Responses to “Race: S.F. Chinatown New Year 10K”


  1. 1 Loraine McVey February 22, 2010 at 5:41 pm

    Jim, you did great on those already hardworked legs! Congratulations! You sure have good race weaving skills, you were gone in a flash from the start line.

    Garmin was going nuts on the pacing (this feels faster than 11 min mile!) and a total distance of 5.77 miles 😦

  2. 2 Flo February 22, 2010 at 6:05 pm

    Excellent report! And I especially love “I hung on behind him like grim death”. Great writing there, speedy Jim.

  3. 3 jime2 February 22, 2010 at 8:20 pm

    Loraine – Yes, My Garmin didn’t like the buildings too much either, particularly in the Financial District. The mile paces seem about right though. I didn’t look at it during the race – good thing too!

    Flo – That’s practically a cliché where I come from 😉

  4. 4 Christi February 23, 2010 at 6:28 am

    Great race report Jim! You did a great job for having 20 miles on your legs. I am impressed!

  5. 5 Dogpound February 27, 2010 at 8:51 am

    well I know you pasted me at some point! Prob. in the insanity of that first mile. Nice meeting you at the end.


Leave a Reply

Race PRs

5K20:43 (LMJS 6/28/09
10K43:44
12K54:36 (Across Bay 3/21/10)
15K1:09:51 (LMJS 19/27/09)
Half1:31:28 (Kaiser 2012
Marathon 3;13:14 (CIM '11)

Pages

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

