Race: LMJS 10K Dec 2010.

When I was starting out with this running lark, no so long ago, the 10K was my favourite distance. The 5K was pretty darned uncomfortable, and the half marathon might be an interesting thing to try. The full marathon was not even on my radar yet. So I used to run 10Ks fairly regularly at Lake Merritt, and PR’d as often as not.
This Sunday I realized that I had not raced around the lake in quite a while, what with marathon training and other racing. I did not really feel like racing, but showed up and first checked that there were enough volunteers. “Doing fine, thank you”. Oh well, better enter and put on the racing shoes. Off came the sweats. Warm up. The conditions were cool, but just OK for singlets and shorts. The old enthusiasm was coming back.
Since introducing chip timing this year the LMJS has experimented with different starting and finishing arrangements, and the current arrangement has the 5K and 10K starting on different lines as the same time, with the 10K being a few yards further back. This gets the distances exact on the loop course, and everyone crosses the same mat at the finish. The only snag is that the faster 10K runners have to go right through the 5K field, which makes the start somewhat interesting to say the least. Perhaps some further adjustments are in order.

After doing the requisite zigzagging, I attached myself to the tail of a loose lead pack of 5k and 10K runners. Going too fast? Probably. Mile 1 –  6:42 Hold this for the race? I wish! Slow a little. I kept a constant distance to the two guys in front. Mile 2 – 7:11 Oh, too slow. Just then a young woman came past. I accelerated a little and followed her as she passed the guys I had been pacing on. Yes, this is sustainable I think. I wonder which distance she is running? Mile 3 – 7:11 again. Those guys must have been slowing.

I ran the tangents well towards the end of the lap and was briefly in front of my new pace partner. White bib, she’s running the 10K, easily leading the women’s race. I grabbed a cup of water from the table as we finished the lap. There was a handful of guys in the 5K finish chute watching us go by. Hm, that has to be most of the people who were in front of us. It’s going to be a lonely second lap.

And so it was. No one visible in front, I glimpsed someone behind, but next time I checked he was further away. Then he was gone. Zeta, for that was her name, kept a steady pace, and it dawned on me that my division position was now immutable and I might as well try to beat her. I had let her get about 40 yards in front, so proceeded to close that gap. Once I had done so, I had to make a decision. Should I continue the surge and go on past, hoping she does not catch me at the finish? Or should I stay close behind and try to out-kick her? I decided on the latter, which in retrospect was probably an error. Miles 4 and 5 –  6:57, 7:02.

Zeta dealt with me expertly. As we went up a slight incline in the last quarter mile she strengthened her pace a little so I was getting extended just to keep up. My kick was getting burned away. Mile 6 – 7:05. When she kicked I did not have an adequate response, and she beat me over the line by 2 seconds. My chip time was 43:50, which knocked a minute off my 10K PR. Nice, although I probably still have some work to do there. I won the 50-59 age group by a pretty good margin.

4 Responses to “Race: LMJS 10K Dec 2010.”


  1. 1 Flo December 30, 2010 at 7:51 pm

    Yay Jim, that’s a hefty PR! And you know, about sitting behind Zeta or pushing forward, there’s no telling how that’ll work out, though when it doesn’t we always say “wrong decision”. Lol. Sounds like she kept you going fast so she was a great help even if you couldn’t squash her. Wonderful to see how you could race so well at the last minute like that, I imagine 2011 will be bringing you some superfine PRs by the handful.

  2. 2 Loraine December 30, 2010 at 9:40 pm

    I wonder when the transition came where I now think of you definitely in the ‘racing’ camp rather than just one of the LMJS runners. Congrats on taking a good chunk out of that PR. I suspect there’s more to come!

  3. 3 Christi December 31, 2010 at 6:01 am

    Awesome race report and Congratulations on a great finish!

  4. 4 Ewen January 4, 2011 at 9:37 pm

    Nice time Jim! I like the story of the race and how it developed tactically. You’ll have to try something different next time 😉


Leave a Reply

Race PRs

5K20:43 (LMJS 6/28/09
10K43:44
12K54:36 (Across Bay 3/21/10)
15K1:09:51 (LMJS 19/27/09)
Half1:31:28 (Kaiser 2012
Marathon 3;13:14 (CIM '11)

Pages

December 2010
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Feb »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

